Moving to the UK!

I’ve been pretty quiet on the blog the past few weeks, and while a lot of that is due to the fact that I haven’t been up to much, it’s also because I’ve been preparing for an(other) international move! This time, I’m headed to London. I’m absolutely thrilled to be heading back to the UK, and to be doing so for a job, since that feels way more adult and legit (and in a different way than my experience with TAPIF, not to disparage that at all, but this has more of a long lasting feeling). Much as it feels weird to write, this move has the makings of being a more permanent one, so the process has been overwhelming to say the least! With that in mind, I figured I’d write up a little bit about the process, since it’s not all been super smooth and easy.

Pre-departure preparation

As with any kind of move, there was a lot of packing to be done. Luckily, I had been planning on moving to the UK in September anyway (the initial plan had been grad school but sometimes life hands us different plans, and that’s okay!), so it wasn’t like I was completely unprepared when it came to figuring out what I would bring. Once again, I was thrown back into the mindset of weeding through my closet to decide what clothes I wanted to bring, what shoes were coming along (and trust me, it was a lot), and anything else that I wanted to have immediately. It’s always a weird feeling to try and pack up your life, and you’d think after the several times I’ve done it that it would be a piece of cake, but alas, it only gets marginally easier each time. All I can say is thank goodness for space bags.

Pandemic Travels

Much like when I went over to France, pandemic restrictions are still in place. Unlike last time though, more is open so more people are traveling, and you can definitely feel it in the airports (and even in checking my seat assignments before leaving). The UK currently requires a negative Covid test taken within three days of departure, based on the date of departure of the flight that will actually take you to the UK (I had to take two flights given that no non-stops were running from PDX). It’s a bit confusing compared to France’s 72 hour requirement, but it’s three calendar days – I left Wednesday September 8, and was tested Sunday, September 5 to ensure I had the results back in time (my provider where I was tested was estimating 48-72 hour turnaround time, but it ended up being just over 24 hours so it was fine anyway). The US is currently an amber list country, but vaccinated Americans are given the same treatment as travelers coming from green list countries – no need for isolation, and a requirement to take another Covid test within two days of arrival. Unvaccinated Americans are classed with any other amber list traveler, and must isolate for 10 days, taking tests on days two and eight (with an option to book an additional day five test for test and release). Any tests must be booked before arrival, and you have to fill out the information on the Passenger Locator Form (which will include a unique code given to you when you book your Covid test), which also indicates where you will be staying and your purpose of travel, within 48 hours of your arrival into the UK. Here are all the documents I needed:

LIST OF REQUIRED TRAVEL DOCUMENTS

  • Passport
  • Boarding pass
  • Negative Covid test, taken within three days of boarding flight to the UK
  • Passenger Locator Form (with unique reference code for prebooked day two test)
  • CDC vaccination card

Although the journey was long, it was fairly painless (other than the backs of my ears, which by hour ten of the journey were less than happy from the mask – I’d love to hear earsaver techniques, I am ALL EARS, pun intended). Due to it being an international flight, I was unable to check in online with Delta, and had to wait to do so at the airport, so that meant allowing slightly more time in the morning before my flight. In Portland, they verified my Covid test, vaccination card, and passport before issuing me my boarding pass. I had to first fly to Atlanta, and although the flight was pretty full, it wasn’t as full as my app had indicated it might be (no complaints from me)! As they’ve been for several months now, masks were required on both legs of my journey, and just like when I flew to France, I had no issues with it (other than the ear thing, but that’s because I went in a KN95 this time instead of a cloth mask so the straps were less forgiving). The three hour layover in ATL went pretty quickly, given that around 45 minutes before boarding started, everyone was called to the gate so they could verify our documents. There they checked covid tests, vaccination cards, passenger locator forms, and passports, before writing all that information down and putting a red sticker on my boarding pass to indicate I’d cleared document check. They were making people fill out the locator form if they hadn’t done so before they’d be considered fully checked in, so that’s a much needed document (in addition to everything else). The flight to London was pretty good, all things considered. There was dinner and lunch service, plus some good snacks so can’t complain about that! I was able to watch the new David Copperfield film, and apart from the uncomfortable headphones, and the fact that the flight tracker map didn’t work (I might be the only one, but it’s absolutely one of my favorite parts about flying), I enjoyed my flight, and was able to sleep for a lot of it. Delta isn’t currently running flights to the UK from the US, so I flew with Virgin Atlantic (a codeshare). I’ve never flown them before, but I enjoyed their service and the experience was comparable to the flights I’ve taken with Delta. Other than some pre-departure drama involving a cancelled flight with no notification, the whole process of flying during this next phase of the pandemic wasn’t horrible.

Customs at Heathrow oddly didn’t feel that much different than in non-pandemic times. Since I used an EU passport (although this applies to UK citizens, US passport holders, and a handful of other country passports), I used the E-gates. Nobody checked any of my documents once I arrived in London, but if you can’t use the E-gates, they absolutely will, and if there are any problems with the E-gates, customs can check those documents, too. Getting my bags took a while, and because I have so much stuff (moving will do that to you), I took a cab to where I was staying instead of trying to navigate the tube (which I would’ve done given any other circumstance). The traffic was absolutely horrific, and for that alone, if you can take the tube, do it.

Some ambiance lighting (and orange juice) to set the mood for the long flight to London

After Arrival: the Practical Things

After I was able to unload all my things, the first task I had to conquer was getting my day two Covid test taken. You can do this anytime between arrival (day 0) and day two, so I booked mine for the same day I arrived just so I could get it done. There’s a long list of providers you can use, and you can opt to have it swabbed by a professional, or to have a kit mailed to you. Considering I was staying at an AirBnb, and didn’t know the mail situation, I opted for finding a place in person. I used a testing center in Canary Wharf, and was able to get in before my appointment time so that was nice. It was five minutes to get the swab done (which was less painful than France, but more-so than the US – I have thoughts on the somewhat metaphorical analogy this makes), and I was pleased with the process, although I’ll grumble a bit about the price of it (£65 for those of you curious). The test results came via email in 54 hours, which was longer than the 48 hours I was promised. I will say it’s a little odd that they ask you to take a test within two days of arrival, but you have no requirement to isolate while you wait for the results. It seems a little risky, given a lot can happen in two-three days, but here we are.

The next thing I had to do was get a SIM for my phone (if only because for as well as I know London, I’m still not an expert at getting from place to place without a little maps assistance). Since I was out at Canary Wharf for my test, I hopped on the DLR to get to Westfield Stratford so I could visit a Three store. There are loads of mobile providers in the UK – and I’ve used three and EE in the past – but I used Three when I studied abroad so I had an urge to use them again. It wasn’t nearly as smooth as I wanted it to be, but the good news is that since I’m on a Pay As You Go plan, I can switch providers at any point if I want to do that. Either way, my phone is now fully functional in the UK.

The element I still haven’t sorted though is opening a bank account. For as much as I thought France was horrifically bureaucratic and difficult, the UK is proving to be worse (who would’ve thought that was possible??). In order to open an account, you need a proof of address. Since I’ve already sorted my living situation, this should be easy, right? WRONG. To prove that I’ll be earning in the UK, I have a letter from my employer confirming my employment with them, as well as my UK address (where I’ll be moving next month). This, however, isn’t enough for any banks. They want post that was delivered to you or a lease agreement (but this can only be from an Estate agent or through a council agreement, which mine isn’t, so my lease agreement doesn’t count). A lot of the things you can use as proof of address aren’t available to me as a non UK citizen (registration on the voter roll, current driver’s license – I could apply for a provisional license but that involves sending off your passport and has a massive wait time, etc…). I’ve changed by address with HMRC so they can send me an updated letter with my National Insurance Number (thank goodness I already had one of these since the backlog is running ~ 16 weeks to get one right now), but that’s going to take 10-16 business days, so that’s essentially my time frame for when I’ll be able to open a bank account. I couldn’t update my address until I was actually in the UK, so really this whole process is a whole catch-22 of epic proportions. I tried opening online accounts like Monzo and Monese, since that’s recommended to try and get something with your address on it, but Monzo denied me (with no reason given, much to the consternation of the bank tellers with whom I spoke about it), and Monese required paying for the debit card (which didn’t seem worth it just to generate a statement I could use for opening an account somewhere else). It’s definitely still a work in progress, and an infuriating one at that. Fingers crossed I’m able to resolve that at some point in the near future, if only so I can be paid (just a small thing, really).

Random moving to the UK tip: Since there’s a possibility this move will be for a while, one thing that could become important for me down the line is having UK credit history. Unfortunately, my US credit history doesn’t transfer outside the country, so I’m essentially starting from scratch. That means I’ll be back in the endless cycle of being unable to get credit cards because of a lack of credit history, but being unable to generate any credit history because I can’t get a credit card. Something that was suggested to me was to get an American Express credit card in the US. After three months of use, I can exchange it for a UK one, no questions asked. This way (in at least three months’ time), I’ll be able to start generating some credit history in the UK! I have no idea if it’ll be successful or seamless, but I’ll report back on that one. I was, however, impressed with the speed with which I received my card in the US!

Despite the minor bank account hiccup, my arrival into London has been lovely, and I’m over the moon to be back. I’ve been able to wander around a bit (blog post incoming on that one), and it really does feel like coming home in a weird way. I’m still definitely stressed about the pandemic, and its effects on the UK (and my job), but I can tell I’m going to have to channel my worries differently over here. Contrary to what I’m used to in Washington (I can’t say the US because not every state has handled the pandemic the same), mask wearing is not really a thing outside, nor is it truly required/enforced inside. I’ve been a little disappointed by how many places have signage recommending the use of a face mask, but not requiring it – seems silly to think most people would automatically comply with recommended than required. It’s more lax than France for sure, but I’ll have to adjust since this is where I’m going to be living for the foreseeable.

It’s hard to believe that I set foot in London for the first time (almost exactly) five years ago, and here I am moving here. If only my 20 year old studying abroad self could see me now. I had no idea at the time how much my life would change from studying abroad (which is cliché, I know, but I do have some proof of that fact), and I’m truly so grateful that the stars have seemingly aligned to make my coming back possible. Here’s to a new adventure!

Recreating one of the first ever photos I took in London in September 2016 (bottom photo), in September 2021 (top photo)

Leave a comment